Read my collection of favorite quotes from True Detective

Let me give you some advice, bastard. Never forget what you are, the rest of the world will not. Wear it like armor, and it can never be used to hurt you.

Chaos isn’t a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail, and never get to try again—the fall breaks them. And some are given a chance to climb, but they refuse. They cling to the realm or the gods, or love. Illusions. Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

l will hurt you for this. A day will come when you think you’re safe and happy, and your joy will turn to ashes in your mouth. And you will know the debt is paid.

No matter who you are, no matter how strong you are, sooner or later, you’ll face circumstances beyond your control.

What is dead may never die.

Cersei Lannister: I shall wear this bruise like a badge of honor. Robert Baratheon: Wear it in silence, or I’ll honor you again.

Ser Ilyn, bring me his head!

When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die. There is no middle ground.

Burn them all!

The Lannisters send their regards.

If you think this has a happy ending, you haven’t been paying attention.

Brothels make a much better investment than ships, I’ve found. Whores rarely sink.

The man who passes the sentence should swing the sword.

Thousands of men don’t need to die. Only one of us. Let’s end this the old way. You against me.

My Watch is ended.

It’s a big and beautiful world. Most of us live and die in the same corner where we were born and never get to see any of it. I don’t want to be most of us.

The things I do for love.

There’s only one war that matters: the Great War… and it is here.

First lesson – stick them with the pointy end

The North remembers.

A Lannister always pays his debts.

I’m tired of reading about the achievements of better men.

All desires are valid to a man with a full purse.

A lion doesn’t concern himself with the opinions of a sheep.

When the snow falls and the white winds blow, the lone wolf dies, but the pack survives

I have a tender spot in my heart for cripples, bastards, and broken things.

Death is so final, whereas life, ahh, life is full of possibilities.

That’s what I do. I drink, and I know things.

Your words will disappear. Your House will disappear. Your name will disappear. All memory of you will disappear.

You have proof? Or, do you want to trade gossip like a couple of fishwives?

Well, my brother has his sword, and I have my mind, and a mind needs books like a sword needs a whetstone.

There are no men like me. Only me.

You will train them yourselves, you will feed them yourselves, and if they die, you will bury them yourselves.

The King shits and the Hand wipes.

I always pictured myself dying in my own bed, the age of 80, with a belly full of wine and a girl’s mouth around my cock.

I will take what is mine with fire and blood.

For the night is dark and full of terrors.

Death is coming for everyone and everything. A darkness that will swallow the dawn.

The occasional kindness will spare you all sorts of trouble down the road.

You know nothing, Jon Snow.

Winter is Coming.